Night Shift Blog Binges

It’s a strange combination, being on a slow night shift when the world is pretty much completely silent all around me, while I seem to, for some unknown and presumably ungodly reason, actually have some energy.

Not to mention the boredom that leads me to reading the Hamilton Spectator, and whatever it is that’s actually causing standard, garden variety misgynistic bullshit to raise the bile in my throat tonight [sidenote: given that I’ve been feeling rather apathetic and emotionally distant about most everything of late, it’s kind of nice to get that energy again], but memo to the Spec:

When, heaven forbid, a woman reaches a position of relative prominance, do you really think the first question that you ask her, and primary focus of your article, should be about how she balances her work and family life? Do you really think that the freshest, most exciting, catchiest bit of information possible to glean from this woman’s story – the part that you turn into your headline – is “The Struggle to Achieve a Work-Life Balance”? Really? Because, just in case you’re unaware, I’m far more interested in how this person’s history of social justice activism and commitment to community-based efforts is going to affect the leadership at the university, and the relationship between that institution and the grassroots organizations in which she has thus far been active.

Some days, it’s only the most heinous bullshit that even pings my radar. Other days, I feel like ripping my hair out that we’re still covering the basics.

3 thoughts on “Night Shift Blog Binges

  1. Observer says:

    What I find more annoying is when the papers lead with a successful woman’s appearance. I want to know about her achievements not why she should soften her look. But they’ll resort to any means to take a successful woman down a peg, won’t they?

  2. […] Night Shift Blog Binges « A Secret Chord “Some days, it’s only the most heinous bullshit that even pings my radar. Other days, I feel like ripping my hair out that we’re still covering the basics.” (tags: feminism media msm women) […]

  3. purtek says:

    Observer, yeah, that’s another common strategy, and another one that I’m more often than not just too tired to get pissed off about.

Leave a Reply

