Something I’ve Been Meaning to Do for a While…

I’m doubtful anyone is still out there, and it seems a little strange to write this when I haven’t been around all month, but for my own reasons, I wanted to note that this quaint little blog joint turned a year old towards the end of last month. And sentimental old fool that I am, I have to note that it’s been quite the year for me, and that this blog thing – and related internet enterprises – have turned out to have been really good for me.

I started this place in a state of chaos. I started it, in some ways, because I was running away from other spaces, virtually and metaphorically. And in that way that people who don’t live in this sphere can never quite understand, it’s been a huge part of me pulling myself back together. I’ve had space where I can think concepts through and connect them to emotions and have that be okay with the nebulous community I was doing it in and then be able to actually think those emotions through. I’ve found this little environment in which I can challenge my own thoughts and be challenged by brilliant people and come to a lot more solid understanding of where I stand on a lot of issues. When I started this blog, I was pretty wishy-washy on the not wanting to piss anyone off, not even really trusting my own opinions. Through the people I’ve encountered and befriended to some extent, I’ve learned a hell of a lot and come to a lot more courage on shit that I think needs to be said.

I’ve come to love this blogging thing, and I really should try to write a thing or two, even in my crazy state of busy, because it’s been therapy, it’s been social, it’s been education, it’s been energizing, it’s been catharsis. And on a much more shallow note, I think it’s really eased the transition back into essay-writing academic mode. Kept my brain mostly sharpened, it has.

Thanks, y’all.

9 thoughts on “Something I’ve Been Meaning to Do for a While…

  1. Debs says:

    Happy blogiversary! xx

  2. observer says:

    Still here. Happy anniversary.

  3. Jay says:

    Glad to hear your little space on the web has been as helpful to you as it has to others.

    Keep talking the talk…we’ll keep listening (and often, talking back). 🙂

  4. Mendacious D says:

    Happy blogiversary!

    Still here, and listening!

  5. Brown Shoes says:

    I’ve enjoyed your work over the year and though this is days and days late, here’s to a great year!

  6. Happy blogiversary to you, happy blogiversary to you, Happy blogiversary, dear Purtek, hppy blogiversary to you.

    I’ve been down myself. Would you like some pollen? Really. No trouble at all.

    I’ve also got a good supply of snotlogged tissues.

  7. hysperia says:

    Happy One Year Blogday purtek. I’m so glad to see you. I’ve missed you.

  8. matttbastard says:

    Holy shit — I can’t believe I missed your 1 yr blogiversary! Congrats!

    😀

  9. purtek says:

    Given that *I* pretty much missed it myself (by like a month or something) and that I’ve been completely invisible from the blogosphere since September…I think I can forgive you.

    Bob – pollen, if accompanied by warmness, might not be rejected over here. Wish I had good excuses like illness, but really, it’s just my completely selfish focus on school and work and shit like that.

    Everybody else – thanks.

Leave a Reply

